Connect with us

AAP MP is one among 19 people also suspended from RS


AAP MP is one among 19 people also suspended from RS

Sanjay Singh AAP

Sanjay Singh, a member of the Aam Aadmi Party, was given a weeklong suspension by the Rajya Sabha on Wednesday due to his “unruly behavior” in the House.

The suspension comes a day after 19 opposition party MPs, including seven from the TMC and six from the DMK, along with representatives from the TRS, CPI-M, and CPI, were suspended for their disorderly conduct in the House.

Singh was cited for shredding papers and hurling them at the Chair on Tuesday by Deputy Chairman Harivansh, who immediately invoked Rule 256 after the House convened for Question Hour at 12 o’clock.

Singh acted in flagrant violation of the regulations and the chair’s authority, according to the deputy chairman.

Shortly after, V Muraleedharan, the minister of state for parliamentary affairs, made a resolution suspending Singh from the House for the rest of the week.

Even while members of the opposition continued to cause a commotion in the house well, the motion was approved by voice vote.

ALSO READ:  Ghazipur Court acquits Mukhtar Ansari of attempted murder charges

A little time after the motion was approved, the deputy chairman asked Singh to leave the room.

The deputy chairman briefly adjourned the House for 15 minutes amidst persistent sloganeering by opposition MPs.

Continue Reading
You may also like...

More in Politics

To Top