nitish kumar bihar cm

Despite a BJP walkout, Nitish wins the trust vote 160-0

nitish kumar bihar cm

As a result of the recent political upheaval in the state, the BJP’s MLAs staged a walkout on Wednesday, but the newly-formed “Mahagathbandhan” government in Bihar easily won the vote of confidence.

Vijay Kumar Chaudhary, the minister of parliamentary affairs, requested a headcount after deputy speaker Maheshwar Hazari stated that even if a voice vote had amply demonstrated the support of the majority, the count would leave no space for any ambiguity.

The confidence resolution received votes from 160 MLAs in total; none were cast against it.

The sole MLA of AIMIM, Akhtarul Iman, participated in the vote and backed the motion of confidence despite his party not being a member of the government coalition.

Some BJP MLAs stormed the House after staging a walkout during Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s speech, demanding that the deputy speaker not waste time on a pointless headcount but instead take up the day’s business and declare a boycott of the proceedings.

The deputy speaker then called for a postponement of the proceedings till Friday while also informing the House that nomination forms will be submitted for the election of a new speaker on Thursday. Vijay Kumar Sinha of the BJP resigned from his position as speaker, leaving the position empty.

In his roughly 30-minute speech, Nitish Kumar alluded in passing to the alleged BJP-ordered revolt by Chirag Paswan of the LJP and the attempts to splinter the JD-U through his former mentee RCP Singh.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *