Connect with us

Karnataka assembly has suspended 10 BJP legislators


Karnataka assembly has suspended 10 BJP legislators

Karnataka Assembly Session
Karnataka Assembly Session

For their “indecent and disrespectful conduct” in the House on Wednesday, ten BJP MLAs were suspended from the Karnataka legislative assembly for the duration of the term by speaker U T Khader.

Dr. C N Ashwath Narayan, V Sunil Kumar, R Ashoka, Araga Jnanendra, D Vedavyasa Kamath, Yashpal Suvarna, Dheeraj Muniraj, A Umanath Kotian, Arvind Bellad, and Y Bharath Shetty are the 10 MLAs. All of them had served as ministers in the past.

It is planned for the assembly session to expire on July 21. It started on July 3.

Following chaotic scenes in which some BJP members threw agenda items and bill copies at the speaker because they disapproved of the speaker’s decision to conduct the house’s business without a lunch break, the speaker took action.

The BJP was protesting the Congress administration at the time for allegedly “misusing” IAS officers for meetings with opposition leaders over the previous two days.

The House of Assembly responded to the Speaker’s “anguish,” according to Law and Parliamentary Affairs Minister H K Patil, who added, “I am naming them (the 10 MLAs) because of their indecent and disrespectful conduct.”

ALSO READ:  Patil and Byregowda take the ministerial oath in Karnataka

More in Politics

To Top